Executive Board

Executive Board Roles and Responsibilities

The Executive Board holds legal, fiduciary, strategic, and policy-setting authority for CJJ and is empowered to take action between meetings of the Council of SAGs. All members are voluntary and serve without remuneration. There is potential for the Executive Board to have as many as 20 members, all of whom serve staggered two-year terms. They are elected or appointed as follows:

  • The CJJ National Chair, Vice Chair, Immediate Past Chair, Treasurer/Secretary, Youth Chair, and Ethnic & Cultural Diversity Chair – are elected by the CJJ Council of SAGs;
  • The National Juvenile Justice Specialist Representative, the National Racial and Ethnic Disparities Coordinator Representative, and the National Compliance Monitor Representative are elected by Specialists, R/ED Coordinators, and Compliance Monitors respectively, who work with SAGs in good member standing with CJJ; and
  • Four Regional Chairs and Four Regional Representatives are elected by SAG members, Affiliate Organization members, and Members at Large within each of CJJ’s four regions. All Regional Chairs must represent a member SAG.


Executive Board Members
Tracey L. Wells-Huggins (NJ)
  National Chair
  New Jersey State Advisory Group Member
Jack Martin (NV)
National Vice Chair
Client Executive, Tyler Technologies
Michelle Diaz (NY)
Immediate Past Chair

Chairwoman, Canary Impact Fund
James Hollywood III (DC)
Annie E. Casey

Tamerdis Hollywood (DC)
                           Ethnic & Cultural Diversity Chair                         Senior Associate, Learning and Dissemination National Community Action Partnership (NCAP)

Isidro Marino (KS)
Emerging Leaders Committee Chair

The Honorable Michael Mayer (MN)
Midwestern Regional Chair
Minnesota State Advisory Group Member,
State District Court Judge, 1st Judicial District, Minnesota
Callie Hargett (MN)
Midwestern Regional Representative
Director of Youth Justice Office at MN Department of Public Safety

Janelle Ridley (MA)
Northeastern Regional Chair
Founder of Transition HOPE
Jill Ruggiero (CT)
Northeast Regional Representative 
Professor & Youth Justice Training Consultant
Chief Tony Jones (FL)
Southern Regional Chair
Chief of Police, City of Gainesville
Hasan Davis (KY)
Southern Regional Representative
Shawn Malia Kanaiaupuni (HI)
Western Regional Representative
President and CEO
Partners in Development Foundation
The Honorable Joan Byer (KY)
Southern Regional Representative
Bowles & Byer Family Law Mediation
Max Mendoza (KS)
Western Region Chair
Juvenile Defense Coordinator, Colorado
Office of the Alternate Defense Counsel


    Rachel Bingham (KY)
Organizational Representative
 Director of the Office of Statewide Programs, Kentucky Administrative Office of the Courts

Anya Sekino (OR)
National Juvenile Justice Specialist
Juvenile Justice Specialist, Oregon State Advisory Group
Toni Lemons (DC)
National Racial and Ethnic Disparities Coordinator Representative
Compliance Monitor, Racial and Ethnic Disparities Coordinator, 
Criminal Justice Coordinating Council
Cecely Reardon (MA)
Representative at Large
Acting Commissioner, Department of Youth Services
Melissa Milchman (DC)
Government Relations Committee Chair
Juvenile Justice Specialist, Office of Victim Services and Justice Grants
Danny Turek (OH)
National Compliance Monitor
Department of Youth Services
  Shay Bilchik (MD) 
  Representative at Large 
  Founder/Director Emeritus, Juvenile Justice Reform, McCourt School of Public Policy, Georgetown University

                                 Pastor Edward Palmer (KY)
                                                                Member at Large